Doylestown Hospital
595 West State Street, Doylestown, PA 18901 (215) 345-2200
V.I.A. Health System
Directions & Parking Nav Spacer Contact Us Nav Spacer Community Benefits Nav Spacer Donate Online Nav Spacer Bill Pay Online Nav Spacer Access Medical Records
Decrease (-) Restore Default Increase (+) font size
Village Improvement Association Website
The 1895 Society

Village Improvement Association

For more information about VIA events, programs or membership,
please call the VIA office at 215-345-2347.

The Village Improvement Association was the guiding force behind the founding of Doylestown Hospital in 1923, and still owns and oversees the operation of the hospital today. Founded in 1895 by a small, but inspired, group of women from Doylestown, the VIA is nationally recognized as the only Women's Club to own and operate a community hospital. The first meeting was held April 26, 1895 with 14 women present. Since that time the VIA has grown in size and scope to its present membership of over 400 members.

Throughout its history, the VIA has continued to be forward looking, while maintaining the original goals of the Association which are to promote "every proper means of improving and beautifying Bucks County", "improving the health and welfare of the residents." Each year members rededicate themselves to these commitments made in 1895.

The VIA recognized the need for public health initiatives and community healthcare services, and began with the employment of a Visiting Nurse in 1916. The 1918 Spanish Influenza epidemic galvanized the need for formalized community based health care. The VIA, together with local medical professionals and the Doylestown community, opened the Doylestown Emergency Hospital, an eight bed facility, at Pine and Oakland in 1923. As demand increased, Doylestown Emergency Hospital moved to a new location at Belmont and Spruce, Doylestown, in 1939. Originally a 21 bed facility, this hospital expanded to accommodate 54 beds in 1951. As the community grew, a larger facility was needed. Doylestown Hospital was dedicated in 1975 as a 165-bed hospital on West State Street, Doylestown.

In 1992, the VIA acquired the Pine Run Community and Health Center and in 1998 added a separate Assisted Living complex known as Pine Run Lakeview.  In 2001 the Village Improvement Association added the Health and Wellness Center to its family.   The VIA Health System has grown to 483 beds in 2007.

The complete story of the first seventy-five years of the VIA and Doylestown Hospital has been beautifully detailed in the book by Anne Biggs entitled "Through Their Eyes". This Tower Hill Press book published in 1998 is available in the Doylestown Hospital Gift Shop.

Today, the center of VIA club activity is at the James Lorah Memorial Home, 132 N. Main Street, Doylestown. This treasured house-museum commemorates the families who have lived in the historic home and the ongoing life of the VIA

Leaderhip of the VIA seated in the Past Presidents'
Garden at Doylestown Hospital

Seated Left to Right: President Marianne Chabot, Immediate Past President Kathryn Lambert
Standing - On Left Side: Carolyn Kozakowski, Recording Secretary; Beverly Coller Campbell,
Asst. Treasurer; Barbara Kieffer, Treasurer; Cory Schroeder, 2nd Vice President; Carolyn Della-Rodolfa,
Vice President Health Services: On Far Right Side - Linda McIlhinney, 1st Vice President 

Village Improvement Association Board of Directors 2012-2014

Marianne Chabot

Linda McIlhinney
1st Vice President

Cory Schroeder
2nd Vice President

Carolyn Della-Rodolfa
Vice President Health Services

Marie Johnston
Corresponding Secretary

Beverly Coller Campbell
Asst. Treasurer

Barbara Kieffer

Georgia Ford
Bylaws Committee Chairman

Carolyn Kozakowski
Recording Secretary

Kathryn Lambert
Immediate Past President

Joy Levy
Finance Committee Chairman

Margaret Martin
Welfare Committee Chairman

Phyllis Morris
JLMH Chairman

Sharon Orr
Fundraising Committee Chairman

Karen Simon
JLMH Co-Chairman

Mary Ellen Stanton
Public Relations Committee Chairman

Patricia Yaroschuk
Parliamentary Advisor

Lee Scheeler
Membership Committee Chairman

Elizabeth Sigety
Appointed Member

Elizabeth Fetterman
Appointed Member

Joan Parlee
Appointed Member